► Your Patronage and Support will help us sustain for long. ► ADVERTISE & REACH OUT to the WORLD!! ► Redefining Community Journalism. ► IMO Motto: "Breaking Perceptions. Delivering Truth". ► Bringing you News, Views, Analysis and all that affects Muslims in India and worldwide. ► IMO Website BEST VIEWED on Mozilla Firefox & Google Chrome!!!
Home / Contributor / Danish Ahmad Khan / SPECIAL REPORT: Race for new Aligarh Muslim University Vice chancellor gains pace, Dr Abusaleh Shariff among frontrunner

SPECIAL REPORT: Race for new Aligarh Muslim University Vice chancellor gains pace, Dr Abusaleh Shariff among frontrunner

By Danish Ahmad Khan

New Delhi/Aligarh: The race for vice chancellorship of the prestigious Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) is gaining pace. The process was set into motion after a special meeting of the AMU Court, the supreme governing body of the Aligarh Muslim University, on February 4 recommended a panel of three names to the President of India, in his capacity as Visitor of the University, for the appointment of the next Vice Chancellor.

The names of Dr Abusaleh Shariff, Executive Director and Chief Scholar, US-India Policy Institute, Washington; Dr Shahid Jameel, CEO, Welcome Trust and DBT India Alliance; and Professor Tariq Mansoor, Principal and CMS, Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College and Hospital, was recommended by the AMU Court.

Nawab Ibne Saeed Khan of Chattari, Pro Chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University, presided over the meeting. Naseem Ahmad, former AMU Vice Chancellor was appointed Chief Election Officer for conducting the election. Earlier, the Executive Council of AMU drew a panel of five names to the University Court. However, Prof. Tariq Mansoor, Dr. Abusaleh Shariff and Prof Javaid Akhter emerged as the frontrunners in the poll.

Dr Abusaleh Shariff
Dr Abusaleh Shariff

Prof Tariq Mansoor secured 94 votes, Dr Abusaleh Shariff secured 90 votes and Dr Shahid Jameel secured 86 votes while Prof Javaid Akhter, AMU Registrar secured 84 votes and Prof Mazahir Kidwai, Vice Chancellor of IIMT University, Meerut secured 36 votes. A total of 130 votes were polled by AMU Court Members.

According to sources who preferred anonymity, it is expected that renowned economist Dr. Abusaleh Shariff, currently Chief Scholar at the US-India Policy Institute, Washington D.C., USA, will finally make it to the post of Vice Chancellor. Dr. Shariff is an acclaimed economist and demographer par excellence. He has worked extensively on various aspects of human development and inclusive growth.

Dr. Abusaleh Shariff has held various positions. He was a Senior Fellow/Chief Economist with the National Council of Applied Economic Research, New Delhi between 1994 and 2012. He was on the Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India ‘Committee for the Consultations on the Situation in Andhra Pradesh’ during 2010. He was on sabbatical / lien appointment as a Senior Research Fellow with the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) from March 2008 to March 2010. His research focus at IFPRI is in the areas of food and nutrition security, social safety nets with a special focus on rural and agrarian communities in Asia; labor markets and income diversity. He was member-secretary of the now well know PM’s High Level Committee report on Muslims in India, also known as Sachar Committee Report.

Other contenders are also distinguished personalities. Prof. Tariq Mansoor is presently Principal of Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College (JNMC), Aligarh Muslim University (AMU). Dr. Shahid Jameel is an elected member of all science academies of India – the Indian National Science Academy (INSA, New Delhi), Indian Academy of Sciences (IASc, Bangalore) and National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI, Allahabad). Prof. Javaid Akhtar is Registrar, AMU, Aligarh. Prof. Mazahir Kidwai is Vice Chancellor of IIMT, Meerut.

Meanwhile, Lt. Gen. (Retd.) Zameer Uddin Shah, who is due to retire as Vice Chancellor in May this year, has expressed satisfaction on the smooth conduct of the election. He hoped that the new Vice Chancellor will work for the betterment and progress of AMU.

Pro Vice Chancellor, Brig S Ahmad Ali (Veteran); Prof Habibur Rehman, AMU Treasurer; Dr Mahmood-Ur-Rahman, former AMU Vice Chancellor; Prof P K Abdul Aziz, former AMU Vice Chancellor; Dr Abhijit Mukherjee, Member of Parliament; Dr Ashok Seth, noted cardiologist and AMU alumnus; Mr K C Tyagi, Member of Parliament; Dr Syed Farooq Ahmad; Dr Syed Zafar Mahmood; Mr Satish Kumar Gautam, Member of Parliament; Mr Chaudhary Mehboob Ali Qaiser, Member of Parliament; Mr Mohd Badruddoza Khan, Member of Parliament; Mr E T Mohd Basheer, Member of Parliament; Mr Mohd Asrarul Haq Qasmi, Member of Parliament; Dr Mohsin Wali; Mrs Sayeda Saiyidin Hameed; Mr Siraj Qureshi; Dr Nadeem Tarin, noted entrepreneur; Mr Zafar Iqbal, Former India Hockey Captain; Maulana Kalbe Sadiq and Mr S M Khan, Press Registrar, Government of India, along with other members, were present at the meeting. Prof Asfar Ali Khan, Officiating Registrar, AMU proposed the vote of thanks.

[Danish Ahmad Khan, a native of Gaya (Bihar), is currently based at New Delhi. He is Founder-Editor of India’s First Online Muslim Newspaper “IndianMuslimObserver.com”. He can be contacted at indianmuslimobserver@gmail.com / editor@indianmuslimobserver.com or on his Mobile # +91 9990179721]

About admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *